Serenade No 4 in F

SKU: ariel_hs4_cs0092_hs4_fs0093 Category:

serenade no.4 in F

from Hob. VIIh: 4

  1. Allegro moderato
  2. Andante
  3. Finale [Fuga]

Haydn’s eight Notturni were composed in 1788-90 to fulfil a commission from King Ferdinand IV of Naples for music featuring his favourite instrument, the lira organizzata. The Neapolitan variety, a popular equivalent of the hurdy-gurdy, incorporated small organ pipes activated by a keyboard. Haydn liked his Notturni well enough to rescore several of them for the famous Salomon concerts in London in 1791-92, replacing the lira parts with flute and oboe.

These Notturni are the work of a great composer at the height of his powers, and fully justify Haydn’s faith in them. Derek Smith’s sensitive and inventive reworking of this material for modern instruments is a welcome addition to the wind repertory.

Serenade No 4 in F


Joseph Haydn

Year arranged



15 minutes

Date of publication


  • 979-0-57009-837-8 [Complete set]
  • 979-0-57009-838-5 [Full score]
No. of Pages



Derek Smith


Double Wind Quintet

Full instrumentation
Full instrumentation 2 flutes
2 oboes
2 clarinets in B flat
2 horns in F
2 bassoons
1 double bass (optional)

Press & Public Reviews

The purpose of this edition is to make this wonderful music widely available in a new arrangement for wind players. Additional dynamics and articulation marks have been added to the original sources to produce a performing, rather than a scholarly text. Metronome marks and additional tempi indications are merely suggestions and are therefore placed between brackets.

In Serenade No. 4 alternative parts are available for alto and tenor saxophones, in place of the two horn parts.

Your thoughts...

Tell us what you think of “Serenade No 4 in F”