Serenade No 2 in F

SKU: ariel_hs2_cs0088_hs2_fs0089 Category:

serenade no.2 in F

from Hob. II: 26

  1. Adagio: Allegro Spiritoso
  2. Adagio
  3. Finale: Allegro con brio

Haydn’s eight Notturni were composed in 1788-90 to fulfil a commission from King Ferdinand IV of Naples for music featuring his favourite instrument, the lira organizzata. The Neapolitan variety, a popular equivalent of the hurdy-gurdy, incorporated small organ pipes activated by a keyboard. Haydn liked his Notturni well enough to rescore several of them for the famous Salomon concerts in London in 1791-92, replacing the lira parts with flute and oboe.

These Notturni are the work of a great composer at the height of his powers, and fully justify Haydn’s faith in them. Derek Smith’s sensitive and inventive reworking of this material for modern instruments is a welcome addition to the wind repertory.

Serenade No 2 in F


Joseph Haydn

Year arranged



10 minutes

Date of publication


  • 979-0-57009-804-0 [Complete set]
  • 979-0-57009-805-7 [Full set]
No. of Pages



Derek Smith


Double Wind Quintet

Full instrumentation
Full instrumentation 2 flutes
2 oboes
2 clarinets in B flat
2 horns in F
2 bassoons
1 double bass (optional)

Your thoughts...

Tell us what you think of “Serenade No 2 in F”