Dance Suite

SKU: ariel_dan_cs0013_dan_fs0014 Category:

Dance Suite

  1. Hey
  2. Pavane/Waltz
  3. Polka
  4. Waltz/Galliard
  5. Tangos
  6. Break-Dance

Dance Suite displays a variety of historical dance forms from a twentieth century viewpoint. The six dances move forward historically from the ancient Hey, through Waltz and Polka, to the sophisticated Tango and the jazz tradition. The rhythm that typifies each dance is constantly under attack, sometimes from a different dance style altogether. These intrusive elements are most obvious in the final dance and prompts the double meaning of the title.

    1. HEY

Hey is constructed like a mediaeval motet, where the main blocks of material are rhythmically unconnected to one another. The percussion is the most disconnected of all and seems to have arrived from a Chinese carnival. The scoring alludes to the eight, four and two foot pipes of a baroque organ.


After a nod in the direction of Dowland’s Lachrimae Pavan, the piece seems to wander to and fro between the 16th century and the 19th century world of the Lehár waltz.

    1. POLKA

The Polka is derived from a four bar fragment found in Stravinsky’s sketchbook for The Rite of Spring above which is written: “Dieppe Polka”.


This is a reversal of the date-shift process in the second movement, in that the wandering goes backwards rather than forwards, particularly to the William Byrd of the Fitzwilliam Virginal Book.

    1. TANGOS

A slow sentimental tango is sandwiched between an abstract deconstructed one, both of which are developed in Dominic Muldowney’s opera The Voluptuous Tango.


Break-Dance is the fastest, hardest and strangest movement. Its exuberance fractures the texture, which slowly crumbles midway through the movement, only to be resurrected mirror fashion. The piece is a species of palindrome with no true centre, hence: “Break-Dance”.


Conductors are free to make a selection from these dances for festival or competition programmes, when limited performance time is available.

Dance Suite


Dominic Muldowney


17 minutes


USA Grade Band 6

Year composed


Date of publication


First performance

Warwick University
25th November 1996
Warwick University Symphonic Wind Ensemble conducted by Colin Touchin


College Consortium Commission with BASBWE Education Trust

  • 979-0-57009-532-2 [Complete set]
  • 979-0-57009-533-9 [Full score]
No. of Pages



Wind Orchestra

Full instrumentation
Instrumentation Full score (1) PERCUSSION 1
Flute 1 (3) Metal*
Flute 2 (3) Claves
Piccolo/Flute 3 (1) Bass Drum
Oboe 1 (1) 2 Suspended Cymbals
Oboe 2 (1) Side Drum
Cor Anglais (1) Cabassa
Eb Clarinet (1) Vibraslap
Bb Clarinet 1 (3) 2 Woodblocks
Bb Clarinet 2 (3)
Bb Bass Clarinet (2) PERCUSSION 2
Bassoon 1 (1) Metal*
Bassoon 2 (1) Side Drum
Bassoon 3 (1) 2 Suspended Cymbals
Eb Alto Saxophone 1 (1) 2 Woodblocks
Eb Alto Saxophone 2 (1) Suspended Tambourine
Bb Tenor Saxophone (1) 2 High Congas
Eb Baritone Saxophone (1)
F Horn 1 (1) PERCUSSION 3
F Horn 2 (1) Metal*
F Horn 3 (1) Bass Drum (with pedal)
F Horn 4 (1) Side Drum
Bb Trumpet 1 (2) Maracas
Bb Trumpet 2 (2) 2 Tomtoms
Bb Trumpet 3 (2) 2 Suspended Cymbals (1 small)
Trombone 1 (1) “78 RPM”**
Trombone 2 (1)
Trombone 3 (1) *Metal:
Euphonium (1) Each player to play a different combination of metal objects. A loud, coarse, brassy sound is required, as in a Chinese Parade.
Tuba (4)
String Bass (1) ** 78 RPM:
Percussion 1 (1) Brushes on Side Drum with gentle Bass Drum
Percussion 2 (1)
Percussion 3 (1)
 Alternative transpositions supplied:
Eb Horn 1 (1)
Eb Horn 2 (1)
Eb Horn 3 (1)
Eb Horn 4 (1)
Bb Trombone 1 TC (1)
Bb Trombone 2 TC (1)
Bb Trombone 3 TC (1)
Bb Euphonium TC (1)
Bb Tuba TC (1)
Bb Trombone 1 BC (1)
Bb Trombone 2 BC (1)
Bb Trombone 3 BC (1)
Eb Tuba TC (1)
Eb Tuba BC (1)
Bb Tuba BC (1)
Bb Euphonium BC (1)

Your thoughts...

Tell us what you think of “Dance Suite”