About Us
Wind Music Catalogue
Theatre Music
Order Forms


by Guy Woolfenden

duration 10 minutes

  I Allegro moderato
  II Andante con moto
  III Allegro

Three Dances for clarinet choir was commissioned by the British
Federation of Music Festivals for the clarinet course at its summer school in 1985. It is dedicated to John Reynolds, who conducted the first performance in Harrogate in July 1985, with grateful thanks for his encouragement and advice.

The first dance, with its many changes of metre and infectious rhythms, is based on a dance originally sketched for the masque in an abandoned production of Troilus and Cressida. The second and third movements are extended reworkings of two dances from The Winter’s Tale: the gentle dance of the lovers, Perdita and Florizel, is followed without a break by the rumbustious Dance of the Satyrs.

.....here again an excellent craftsman at work creating at times some quite beautiful sounds.

Winds Magazine




Ariel Music 1999-2016 - Website designed by Xube Ltd - Logo Designed by Set Square Design Limited