About Us
Wind Music Catalogue
Theatre Music
Order Forms


by Joseph Haydn
arranged by Derek Smith

duration 13 minutes

2 flutes, 2 oboes, 2 clarinets, 2 horns, 2 bassoons, optional double bass

Haydn’s eight Notturni were composed in 1788-90 to fulfil a commission from King Ferdinand IV of Naples for music featuring his favourite instrument, the lira organizzata. Haydn rescored several of them for the famous Salomon concerts in London in 1791-92, replacing the lira parts with flute and oboe. These Notturni are the work of a great composer at the height of his powers, and fully justify Haydn’s faith in them. Derek Smith’s sensitive and inventive reworking of this material for modern instruments is a welcome addition to the chamber wind repertory.




Ariel Music 1999-2016 - Website designed by Xube Ltd - Logo Designed by Set Square Design Limited