About Us
Wind Music Catalogue
Theatre Music
Order Forms


by Guy Woolfenden

duration 16 minutes

piano reduction and solo clarinet
full score & parts available on hire:
2*202.2200. timps, strings, solo clarinet
  Allegro moderato
    Variazione al rondo
  Click the movement titles above for 30 second samples

This concerto was commissioned by the Beauchamp Sinfonietta to celebrate the 70th birthday of Jack Brymer, to whom the work is dedicated, and who gave the first performance in Warwick in 1985.

This proved to be an attractively engaging piece: indeed it is some time since I experienced fifteen minutes of music so enjoyably filled. Woolfenden has produced a string of melodies which provided his soloist with an enjoyable display and the orchestra with an accompaniment to relish.

Birmingham Post

Woolfenden also has some fine things in his two-movement Concerto, the end of the first movement in particular is exquisitely poised.

International Record Review

This very fine piece is another welcome rarity that clearly deserves wider exposure and that definitely whets one’s appetite for more of Woolfenden’s concert works.

Music Web USA




Ariel Music 1999-2016 - Website designed by Xube Ltd - Logo Designed by Set Square Design Limited