About Us
Wind Music Catalogue
Theatre Music
Order Forms


by Guy Woolfenden

duration 17 minutes

piano reduction and solo bassoon


  II Andante


  Click the movement titles above for 30 second samples

Guy Woolfenden’s Bassoon Concerto was commissioned by the Warwickshire Symphony Orchestra to celebrate its Diamond Jubilee in 1999, supported by The National Lottery through the Arts Council of England. The first performance was conducted by the composer in Warwick on 9th October 1999, with Meyrick Alexander, to whom it is affectionately dedicated, as soloist.

Woolfenden’s programme notes pay tribute to the inspiration of Nielsen and the very evident influence of Sibelius, although the work remains firmly Woolfenden: a little theatrical,well-orchestrated, accessible, entertaining, and clever without being too clever. Meyrick Alexander’s liking for the work resulted in a vivacious first performance of a very valuable new concerto.

Birmingham Post




Ariel Music 1999-2016 - Website designed by Xube Ltd - Logo Designed by Set Square Design Limited